Connect with us


Recommended Reads – World of Warcraft



With the amount of lore within the World of Warcraft Series, great novels have been written to accompany and explain it. Here at My Norgannon we have decided to a quick review of some of these novels as we highly recommended that you look into reading some of them. These novels have been written with great detail. Whether you are the novice or the expert on the Warcraft Series, these books are for you.

The Original Series

1. Day of The Dragon by: Richard A Knaak

This novel takes place after the second war. The main plot line is the freeing of Dragonqueen Alexstraza from the Dragonmaw Clan. A Dalaran Mage Rhonin is in charge of freeing her. Rhonin along with the dragon mage Krasus. On their journey to rescue the Dragonqueen they are faced with many challenges along the way. They were attacked by a dragonmaw orc patrol along and faced many similar complecations. My Norgannon considers this a great read.

2. Lord of the Clans by: Christie Golden.

This novel is the story of the rise of Warchief Thrall after the collapse of the horde.

Back of Book Description.

Slave. Gladiator.Shaman. Warchief. The enigmatic orc known as Thrall has been all of these. Raised from infancy by cruel human masters who sought to mold him into their perfect pawn, Thrall was driven by both the savagery in his heart and the cunning of his upbringing to pursue a destiny he was only beginning to understand-to break his bondage and rediscover the ancient traditions of his people. Now the tumultuous tale of his life’s journey-a saga of honor, hatred, and hope-can at last be told….

My Norgannon finds this book very interesting and recommend to anyone who is interested in the story behind the rise of Thrall.

Read More:


3. The Last Guardian by: Jeff Grub

This novel is about Medivh’s struggle between evil and good. As he is destined to be very powerful, his decisions can change the very face of Azeroth.

Back of Book Description

The Guardians of Trisfal: a line of champions imbued with godlike powers, each one through the ages charged with fighting a lonely secret war against the Burning Legion. Medivh was fated from birth to become the greatest and most powerful of this noble order. But from the beginning a darkness tainted his soul, corrupting his innocence and turning to evil the powers that should have fought for good. Torn by two destinies, Medivh’s struggle against the malice within him became one with the fate of Azeroth itself…and changed the world forever.

War of the Ancients Series

This book series acts as a prequel to Warcraft games and other novels. These help players understand the lore of The World of Warcraft greatly and we highly recommend them. The three following novels are by the writer Richard A. Knaak.

1. The Well of Eternity

This novel takes place months after the Battle for Mount Hyjal. Three warriors from current times were sent back in time from a mysterious rift in the Kalimdor Mountians. These warriors have to convice the Queen to not cleanse Azeroth of the lesser races.

Back of Book Description

In the first chapter of this epic trilogy, the outcome of the historic War of the Ancients is forever altered by the arrival of three time-lost heroes: Krasus, the dragon mage whose great power and memories of the ancient conflict have inexplicably diminished; the human wizard Rhonin, whose thoughts are divided between his family and the seductive source of his now-growing power; and Broxigar, a weathered orc veteran who seeks a glorious death in combat. But unless these unlikely allies can convince the demigod, Cenarius, and the untrusting Night Elves of their queen’s treachery, the Burning Legion’s gateway into Azeroth will open anew. And this time — the struggles of the past may well spill over into the future…

2. The Demon Soul

The Demon Soul is the story of the night elves defense of the Burning Legion from their lands. The Burning Legion’s current attack led by Archimonde currently stands at the well of eternity. With the defense Malfurion Stormrage and the wizard Krasus lead the Night Elves against the onslaught of the Burning Legion. On their final stand a ancient power awakens and forges a weapon of unimaginable power. The Demon Soul has the power to drive the legion from Azerot completely but its use will cost more than anyone could have predicted.

3. The Great Sundering

As the last novel of the series, The Great Sundering describes the end of the War of the Ancients time line. This includes the Sundering of Azeroth into the two continents that exist today.

Back of Book Discription

The hour of wrath draws near…

The valiant night elves have been shattered by the loss of their beloved general. The black dragon, Neltharion, has claimed the Demon Soul and scattered the mighty dragonflights to the winds. Above all, the demonlord, Archimonde, has led the Burning Legion to the very brink of victory over Kalimdor. As the land and its denizens reel from this unstoppable evil, a terror beyond all reckoning draws ever nearer from the Well of Eternity’s depths…

Read More:

In the final, apocalyptic chapter of this epic trilogy, the dragon-mage Krasus and the young druid Malfurion must risk everything to save Azeroth from utter destruction. Banding together the dwarves, tauren and furbolg races, the heroes hope to spark an alliance to stand against the might of the Burning Legion. For if the Demon Soul should fall into the Legion’s hands, all hope for the world will be lost. This then, is the hour… where past and future collide

The Authors who have written these books have put much time into them. We and My Norgannon suggest you all to read some or all of them. It would also be great to pass this information onto your friends as they can find much pleasure from reading them. As these books are numbered, they are not required to read all of them to understand the others. You can read any book from either series and have a good idea of whats going on.


Continue Reading